Value of Money in The Christian’s Life

Like with mostly anything, when we as Christians view something as an ultimate, we risk committing the sin of idolatry. As Christians we must ensure that we do not allow anything to obstruct our relationship with God. Most people believe that money in and of itself is evil, but rather it is “…the love of money” which is the real root of all kinds of evil (1 Timothy 6:10). The Lord knows that we require money to live. It is when we relentlessly pursue and desire the accumulation of more and more money, regardless of the costs involved, that we run into problems. This is why it is critically important that we keep Christ above everything else in our lives.

Recently, I had the opportunity to listen to James MacDonald on his “Walk in the Word” Radio Program where he delivered his message about money’s purpose in the Christian’s Life. The premise for his message consisted of money being a test in our lives as Christians on the following levels:

1.) Money is a test of your work ethic (How hard have I worked for the money which I have earned?)

2.) Money is a test of your self-control (Do I live on less than I make by living within my means?)

3.) Money is a test of your integrity (Do I cut corners or take shortcuts for more monetary gain? OR Have I gotten to where I am today in my career without compromising my integrity?)

4.) Money is a test of your love for people (Do I exploit others for monetary gain? Have relationships been sacrificed for the sake of making more money? OR Am I an effective steward of my financial resources where I help out those in need?)

5.) Money is a test of your love for God (“For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also” (Matthew 6:21, NIV). Do I treasure God above all things, especially my money?)

As you can see a great sum of insights are able to be gained into our Christian lives simply by how we have approached earning our money, and the ways in which we manage it. Having said this, it is very important that the ways in which we are handling our finances are reflective of what it means to be a true follower of Christ. We must always strive to be good ambassadors of Christ towards others, especially non-believers, by having consistency between our words and our actions.

In the end, we need to ensure that we never love the gifts more than the Giver through constantly keeping God number one in every area of our lives, particularly as far as the stewardship of our finances goes.

Like 1 Timothy 6:6-7 tells us:

But godliness with contentment is great gain. For we brought nothing into the world, and we can take nothing out of it.

As Christians, let’s set our hearts on pursuing that which will last for an eternity for true soul-satisfying contentment rather than on the fleeting material pleasures found in this fractured world.

Dear Lord,

I pray that this post is able to awaken some self-examination on how we are presently stewarding our finances in our lives for Your Glory. Help us to remember that everything we own ultimately belongs to You. Therefore, please bless us with the practical wisdom on how to utilize what You have generously provided to us for purposes of furthering Your Kingdom.

In Jesus’ Name, I pray,

Amen.

One thought on “Value of Money in The Christian’s Life

  1. Pingback: God’s never-ending stream of much-needed mercies | Free Christadelphians: Belgian Ecclesia Brussel - Leuven

Comments are closed.